Shocking! MS Dhoni will not play for India in T20Is again

Shimron Hetmyer

Shimron Hetmyer

After scoring 140 and 157 not out in the first two ODIs, Kohli reached the three-figure mark again against the touring West Indies side in the third ODI at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune.

But when asked if Dhoni's career in T20s is over, Prasad said, "Not yet".

Dhoni led a "reluctant" India to the inaugural World T20 Cup title in 2007, which indirectly helped cricket give birth to its most lucrative and famous league - the IPL.

The only T20 internationals left in the next six months is a three-game series against New Zealand, which is scheduled in February.

Little wonder then that the decision to keep him out of the upcoming T20Is against West Indies and Australia has left supporters absolutely fuming.

T20I series against West Indies: Rohit Sharma (C), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Dinesh Karthik, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed, Umesh Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem.

More news: Google Brings Privacy Controls a Little Closer to Search
More news: Angelique Kerber outlasts Naomi Osaka at WTA Finals
More news: British PM May says Brexit deal is 95% settled

Veteran wicketkeeper-batsman Parthiv Patel has also found a place in the Test squad.

Such has been the nature of the ODI series that Indian selectors had to recall frontline pacers Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar back in the squad.

India have taken the lead of 1-0 in the ongoing five-match ODI series between India and West Indies.

What are the squads for the 3rd ODI between India and West Indies?

Kohli, however, returns for the four-match Test series against Australia later this year with the BCCI's selection committee naming an 18-member team for the important assignment.

Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvenshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed, Umesh Yadav and Shahbaz Nadeem.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.